Hotter Than Hell…

3 07 2009

I hate hot weather. I despise the summer. But, crap, what can I do? Without air conditioning, there is just no getting around it, even in Seattle. So, let us proceed to the Serenity Prayer:

God grant me the serenity
To accept the things I cannot change;
Courage to change the things I can;
And wisdom to know the difference.

The point being, “accept the things I cannot change.” No matter how hard I scrunch up my eyebrows and hunch my shoulders, it is not going to get cooler outside until the effing sun goes down.

Instead, let us focus on some summertime tunes, one after the other. Starting with the Kinks who are lazing on a sunny afternoon. The Kinks tend to show up at many of my blogs.

Now, Mungo Jerry In the Summertime:

Kick it up a notch with the Lovin Spoonful…

Then drive it up as high as it can go with Blue Cheer, whoa!

And let us bring it on home with Mr. Steve Fromholtz and the Texas Trilogy. “‘Cause it’s hotter than hell when the sun hits the land…”

Actions

Information

9 responses

3 07 2009
nicola

Holy shit, Pierce, I had no idea–no idea at all–that Blue Cheer were the first speed metal hair band! I always thought they were Big Brother and the Holding Company types. Wow. (Trivia moment–did you know that Arthur, K’s stepfather, played with Blue Cheer v. briefly in the early days?)

It’s supposed to cool down by Monday. But keep the good music coming…

3 07 2009
chadao

Wow! Arthur played with these guys! Incredible. That is beyond cool.

3 07 2009
chadao

Will Arthur be at your Clarion party, July 17?

3 07 2009
nicola

They usually come to our parties–but I’ll ask him, to make sure.

3 07 2009
chadao

I will burn the disk just for the hell of it and bring it along. I am so excited. I have met Arthur, but my perspective has changed. “Been sitting over here on the Parchment Farm…all I did was shoot my arm…”

5 07 2009
rhbee

I have to say I love the summertime, the back of my neck gettin red and pritty but then I live in Southern Cal about two steps from the beach. Anyways, thanks for collecting the tunes.

5 07 2009
chadao

rhbee-Your are in the right place, then. I used to live in Long Beach. Seattle is more my weather. I ran away from Texas to escape the heat.

6 07 2009
rhbee

Oh, and why does Nicola call you FoAn Pierce?

6 07 2009
chadao

Pierce is my first name.

Leave a Reply

